Let's Talk PSI

Welcome to the Hyundai Palisade community!

Click REGISTER to join us! We'd LOVE to have you... :)

LynnZimmerman

Reaction score
My Palisade
2020 Limited AWD
Yesterday, I added air to all my tires (fronts were 3# low, rears 4# low). I set them all to 35psi, which is what I have been doing since I bought my 2020 Limited AWD. But with previous cars I would always set the rear wheels to the recommended pressure and add 2 extra psi to the front wheels. Right or wrong, I was doing this because I figured since 60% of the vehicle's weight was on the front wheels maybe that it would be a good thing?

Alan_F

Reaction score
Yesterday, I added air to all my tires (fronts were 3# low, rears 4# low). I set them all to 35psi, which is what I have been doing since I bought my 2020 Limited AWD. But with previous cars I would always set the rear wheels to the recommended pressure and add 2 extra psi to the front wheels. Right or wrong, I was doing this because I figured since 60% of the vehicle's weight was on the front wheels maybe that it would be a good thing?
That is a good question. However, the auto manufacturer sets the tire pressure recommendations partly based on handling tests they do to make sure their vehicles (and especially SUV's since they have a high center of gravity) do not have a tendency to rollover during emergency driving conditions (like a sudden swerve to avoid an accident). This was a big problem about 20 years ago, so the government requires these tests.

So even though it may be a good idea to add a couple of PSI if you want to (over and above the recommended pressure on the sticker in the driver's door jamb), if the manufacturer specifies the PSI for front and rear tires to be the same, it might be a good idea to do that. I would not go over 2 PSI above the recommended tire pressure (when measured under cold tire pressure conditions).