Voice command not working

Welcome to the Ad-Free Palisade community!

Paid for 100% by Sal, the webmaster. Click register to join us!

Craig44485

Member
Messages
50
Reaction score
8
Points
8
2021 Calligraphy, today the voice command feature stopped working. When I press the speaker button on the steering wheel a message pops up saying "Starting voice recognition, please wait", but nothing happens. I can manually put in a destination on the touch screen, but still no voice prompts when driving. Thought I saw a thread somewhere about the "head unit" being defective and needing replaced. Wondering how long it would take to get the part in and have it replaced with a brand new one, not refurbished. Anyone else have this issue?
 

Drewski

New member
Messages
25
Reaction score
13
Points
3
anything else broken? my voice recognition stopped working along with the text message display and the USB data port stopped reading flash drives with music. dealer messed with it for a week until they threw in the towel and ordered a new head unit, which took a day to be delivered. Even Hyundai tech corporate couldn’t figure it out.

Everything works now.
 

ejko

Member
Messages
43
Reaction score
24
Points
8
My voice recognition started acting exactly as yours today. In addition, my radio started coming on to the same station when I start the car regardless of what station it was last on. Strange.
 

Drewski

New member
Messages
25
Reaction score
13
Points
3
My voice recognition started acting exactly as yours today. In addition, my radio started coming on to the same station when I start the car regardless of what station it was last on. Strange.
yep, ours did the same! always started on XM “Lithium” channel although we rarely listened to that one. try plugging in a flash drive with music and see if it works. apple car play still worked though. and text message notifications stopped showing up on the display.
 

Craig44485

Member
Messages
50
Reaction score
8
Points
8
Follow up, took it to the dealer today, they tried a hard reset, and then pulled the unit out and checked the wire connection to make sure nothing was loose. No dice, so they ordered a new radio and will inform me once they get it in to install it.
 

Craig44485

Member
Messages
50
Reaction score
8
Points
8
Part came in. Installed it today. I think the new one has the new update. Can't figure out the Home Screen where it used to be divided into 3 parts, Nav, Radio, and weather seems different now. Will have to research on how to set this up/rearrange. Also see an option for "guest" with regards to Bluetooth/link. Something seems off but have not had time to figure it out yet.
 

Craig44485

Member
Messages
50
Reaction score
8
Points
8
Anyone know how to rearrange the widgets with the new update? It seems the original way, with the 3 widgets, Nav/Radio/Weather are no longer appearing, only 2 can be displayed now.
 

Drewski

New member
Messages
25
Reaction score
13
Points
3
Anyone know how to rearrange the widgets with the new update? It seems the original way, with the 3 widgets, Nav/Radio/Weather are no longer appearing, only 2 can be displayed now.
Yes I miss the original layout too, but you can retain the functionality with a bit more user input.

  1. Setup > Display > Split Screen, make sure all the boxes are checked. ADFA2271-7A79-434D-A825-35831663F118.jpeg
  2. Hit the home button to return to the default / start up screen 77F5F1F1-7987-4A18-9979-7A3E711DDA0F.jpeg
  3. When you want more info on screen, tap one of the three display areas - the temp, the radio station, the map. That will change the screen to either a single or split screen display, I think based on the last use. If it’s a single display, note in the right margin that there is a little arrow. Tap the arrow to split the screen. BBD93340-764B-4C3C-AFD7-CF144DD0D924.jpeg
  4. This will split the screen into your first choice and something else. Swipe up or down on the something else to change to a different display option. 94AA98C0-850A-4B3B-9E95-7E48FE3A2676.jpeg
 

Craig44485

Member
Messages
50
Reaction score
8
Points
8
Yes I miss the original layout too, but you can retain the functionality with a bit more user input.

  1. Setup > Display > Split Screen, make sure all the boxes are checked. View attachment 1997
  2. Hit the home button to return to the default / start up screen View attachment 1998
  3. When you want more info on screen, tap one of the three display areas - the temp, the radio station, the map. That will change the screen to either a single or split screen display, I think based on the last use. If it’s a single display, note in the right margin that there is a little arrow. Tap the arrow to split the screen. View attachment 1999
  4. This will split the screen into your first choice and something else. Swipe up or down on the something else to change to a different display option. View attachment 2000
Thank you very much.
 

ejko

Member
Messages
43
Reaction score
24
Points
8
Yes, thanks for the help. Maybe it just takes more time to get used to it, but I feel the new layout is a step backward from the prior one.
 

2020limitedsteel

New member
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Points
1
This happened to my 2020. Sound stopped one day I had to reset it. Then voice command would try to engage but didn't. Also the weather app stopped working. My fix!? I re-installed the current software update again and it all came back and works perfect. No dealer needed.
 

Hopster

New member
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Points
1
2021 Palisade Limited - Voice recognition stopped working out of the blue one day as did the warning for Traffic Cameras - updated software and now all is well.
 
G

G-27770

Just had my 2021 Calligraphy in bc of this exact problem. They couldn't figure it out, and offered to keep it and troubleshoot. I need it for a trip, so I'll be taking it back afterwards. Thanks for the info, I'll be giving this to my service advisor!
 

BethAnn S

New member
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Points
1
This happened to my 2020. Sound stopped one day I had to reset it. Then voice command would try to engage but didn't. Also the weather app stopped working. My fix!? I re-installed the current software update again and it all came back and works perfect. No dealer needed.
How do you update the software?
 
Top